By default, Paddle will email customers with their order receipts along with any instructions you have provided for products. The best way to preview the emails your customers will receive is to test your checkout integration using the full purchase & refund method.
Customers may also receive emails for the following:
Orders that reach a certain risk score will be flagged for manual review by our support team. While the transaction review is pending, the money with be captured but not taken from their account. If a customer’s order is deemed high risk, they will receive the following email notification:
If the flagged order is rejected, the money will be released back to them and they will receive the following email notification:
Using Paddle you’re able to switch on checkout recovery - a feature whereby we attempt to recover any incomplete checkouts for your products. You’re able to switch checkout recovery on/off in the Checkout Settings page of your Paddle dashboard.
If checkout recovery is switched on, customers will receive two email notifications. The first one is sent after 90 minutes+ of checkout inactivity:
A second and final email is sent out 7 hours+ following the first email if they have not completed their purchase since the previous email.
You’re able to switch on pre-billing notifications for subscriptions and specify the number of days before the next billing date in which they are delivered in the Subscription Settings page of your Paddle dashboard. For each pre-billing reminder, customers will be sent the following email notification:
Note: If you choose to send pre-billing notifications, avoid using ‘Subscription’ in the plan name to avoid repeated words in the email copy.
You’re able to switch on failed billing notifications for subscriptions (recommended) and specify how often we should retry the payment in the Subscription Settings page of your Paddle dashboard. For each failed billing attempt, customers will receive the following notification:
As an alternative to cancelling a subscription when all payment attempts have failed, you can now choose to pause the subscription instead. This will give your customer a chance to resolve their payment issue in their own time and then re-start their subscription again.
If there was a problem delivering a product via webhook fulfillment, customers will receive the following notification: